[banner title=”CONNECTICUT DIVORCE LAWYER” id=”37477″ caption_position=”bottom” theme=”default_style” height=”auto” width=”auto” show_caption=”1″ show_cta_button=”1″ use_image_tag=”1″]
Connecticut divorce lawyers are frequently asked questions about divorce in Connecticut. Many top rated divorce lawyers who are proven aggressive offer legal services to Connecticut residents who want to dissolve their marriages with a divorce. This page compiles divorce FAQs from spouses in Connecticut who are looking for help navigating the divorce process. They often have questions about custody, marital property division and other questions about the divorce process. Some are looking for a lawyer who charges a flat fee or is fast and affordable. Some just want a simple, uncontested divorce. Others have a more complicated scenario involving minor children, hidden assets and property distribution. The divorce FAQ below is based on the Connecticut Practice Book as well as standard practices in the Connecticut divorce bar.
Divorce FAQ in Connecticut
Can I file a no fault divorce in Connecticut?
Yes. Connecticut is a no fault state which means you do not have to allege grounds or accuse your spouse of anything. You can simply say that the marriage is irretrievably broken down.
2. Can I bring a fault based divorce in Connecticut? If so what are the grounds for divorce in Connecticut?
Yes. Even though Connecticut is a no fault state, if you want to allege fault, you can. Fault based divorced in Connecticut include adultery; fraud; willful desertion for a year or more; intolerable cruelty, absence from the marital home for more than 7 years; imprisonment for more than a year; habitual drunkenness; and confinement for mental illness.
3. How long does the divorce process in Connecticut take?
Connecticut has a 90 time out period for divorce so after all the paperwork is signed and filed, even if the parties agree on every single thing, you are looking at a minimum of 4 months. Of course, it can take years depending on your personal story.
4. How does the Court decide custody in Connecticut
Custody in Connecticut is more and more seen as having a joint or shared custody presumption but ultimately, the court will do what it deems in the “best interest of the child.”
5. Can I get 50 percent of the marital assets if I divorce?
It is possible but not necessarily going to happen. Connecticut is an equitable distribution state not community property like California and Texas. So the judge will only give you 50 percent if he or she deems 50 percent to be “fair.”
6. How much are the court filing fees? What about the other fees I have to pay?
You will have to pay many different fees that include attorneys fees, motion fees, publication if that is necessary in your case and possibly others. As for the court filing fee in Connecticut see this page.
7. What are the residency requirement in Connecticut?
To file for divorce in Connecticut, either you or your spouse has to be a Connecticut resident for at least one year. That is the general rule.
8. How much child support can I get for the kids in Connecticut
While the divorce is pending the court will issue a temporary order of support and once the divorce is finalized. The court uses a mandatory mathematical formula to determine the amount of child support.
9. Can I file a divorce myself in Connecticut?
Yes. Connecticut law allows parties to appear pro se but this is not encouraged if your divorce is contested. But few Connecticut divorce lawyers recommend you doing this.
10. What if my spouse tries to hide or dissipate marital assets?
When a divorce is filed in Connecticut, pursuant to standard procedures and the practice book, an automatic order is put in place by the court to stop spouses from hiding, wasting, dissipating or disposing of any marital assets.