Texas Divorce Lawyer Advertising Page
[banner title=”TEXAS DIVORCE LAWYER” id=”37394″ caption_position=”bottom” theme=”default_style” height=”auto” width=”auto” show_caption=”1″ show_cta_button=”1″ use_image_tag=”1″]
DIVORCE IN TEXAS
As any Texas divorce lawyer will tell you, Divorce in Texas is never a dull event. You just never know what is going to happen. It is fair to say though that most divorce lawyers in Texas do the best they can to provide efficient, aggressive and competent representation to their clients. They fight for their clients to get the best results and to make sure that their clients get the outcome they deserve.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT DIVORCE IN TEXAS
What is the residency requirement to file for divorce in Texas?
Six months minimum for at least one spouse.
2. Can I file for divorce anywhere in the state?
Usually you have to file in the county where you or your spouse live (or used to live if one of you has moved out of state). To file in a county in Texas, by law you have to have resided in that country for at least 90 days before you file your divorce petition.
3. How much does it cost to get divorced in Texas?
It depends. Like any other state, the cost of your divorce increases exponentially if is contested versus uncontested. It also will depend on if the attorney charges a flat fee or puts you on a retainer. long does a divorce take in Texas?
4. How long does a Texas Divorce Take from Start to finish?
A minimum of 60 days. You have a sixty day time out after the papers are served and issue is joined before you can get a divorce judgement. That is the minimum. How long your divorce takes will depend on a number of issues in your own case such as whether the case is contested or not. If your divorce case is contested it could take years from start to finish. If it is uncontested it will take at least 60 days.
5. How much child support can I get?
The court will make a determination based on your monthly gross income and that of your child’s other parent – your ex. Child support is based on the child support formula as it is in most other states.
6. Is it possible to do my own divorce in Texas?
Yes. A lot of people file their own divorce and if it is simple and there are no issues such as minor children and property or other assets, you should be able to easily file an uncontested divorce online. But if there are complications, you should probably get a competent and experienced attorney.
7. Can I resume my maiden name?
8. How is property division handled in Texas?
Texas is an equitable distribution state. That means the judge will order a division that is “fair” under be circumstances of your specific situation but that may or may not amount to a 50/50 split.
9. What are the grounds for divorce in Texas?
There are seven grounds for divorce in Texas: 1. No fault (insupportability), 2. Insanity for at least 3 years that has been proven, 3. cruelty, 4. abandonment, 5. living apart (separation) up to three years; 6. abandonment; 7. Conviction of a felony.
10. Will I have to split everything down the middle as far as property settlement?
Yes, normally because Texas is a community property state and that means a 50/50 split of anything acquired during the marriage but not separate property such as gifts or things you brought to the marriage.
Are you a Texas divorce lawyer who would like to adopt this page to advertise your services to your clients? Please contact us today at email: firstname.lastname@example.org or by filling out the contact form below:
[contact-form-7 id=”32439″ title=”Contact form 1″]